Research Ethics

NACOSTI is a state corporation established by the ST&I Act, no 28 of 2013 to regulate and assure quality in Science, Technology and Innovation Sector and advises the Government in matters related thereto.

Our MUST ERC appointed committee has undergone comprehensive training in the field of bioethics and has received accreditation from the National Commission for Science, Technology, and Innovation (NACOSTI) under the accreditation number NACOSTI/NSEC/AC/03923. This accreditation is a crucial aspect of ensuring the quality assurance of research conducted within our institution.

In order to maintain high ethical standards in research, Institutional Ethics Review Committees (IERCs) play a vital role in reviewing research proposals for ethical clearance before they are submitted to NACOSTI for licensing. These IERCs are accredited by NACOSTI, which sets certain requirements for their accreditation process.

In view of the above, NACOSTI has mandated MUST to carry out ethical review under its committee known as MIRERC.



From MUST:

  1. Prof. Peter Masinde – MIRERC Chairperson
  2. Fr. Dr. Elias Kinoti – MIRERC Vice Chair
  3. Prof. Eustace Mwenda
  4. Prof. Joshua Arimi
  5. Dr. Florence Thiakunu
  6. Dr. Frank Onyambu
  7. Dr. Amos Chege
  8. Ms. Sharon Koskei
  9. Mr. Simon Mirara
  10. Dr. Sarah Wandili
  11. Dr. Kubaison Thiaine
  12. Dr. Samson Munialo
  13. Dr. Jacob Okungu
  14. Mr. George Njeru
  15. Dr. Beatrice Owiti
  16. Ms. Ruth Gibendi
  17. Dr. Daniel Maitethia`

From MeTRH and County Government of Meru

  1. Ms. Doreen Kawira – MeTRH
  2. Ms. Rael Gacheri – MeTRH
  3. Ms. Hellen Ringera – ADNED
  4. Dr. Joseph Macharia – MeTRH
  5. Dr. Patrick Mugaine – MeTRH
  6. Ms. Janice K. Ikianya – Ag. Dir. Trade CG. Meru
  7. Festus K. Mitheu –              Member (Lay person)

The Composition of the Secretariate:

  1. Prof. Peter Masinde – Chair MIRERC
  2. Dr. Patrick Kubai – Secretary MIRERC
  3. Ms. Susan Mutunga – AR RICE
  4. Mr. Zakayo Maingi – Technical Person
  5. Mr. Charles Kinuthia Mugi – Technical Person
  6. Mr. Tobias Owino – Admin Assistant, RCE
  7. Ms. Lilian Muthee – Secretary, RICE